Hmmm. Should I even acknowledge the fact that I have not updated this blog in over a year?? Maybe a mini acknowledgement. I waver back and forth between meticulously documenting and just living. Many times I can’t seem to even seem to just live – it’s more like chasing, trying to catch up. Maybe one day I’ll actually believe the reality that life with kids is different than life without and there’s no turning back. (Not that I’d want to. Life with kids is amazing!!)….[segue]….Introducing Luke Henry!

IMG_4482

So he’s 4 months old in this pic and he’s 6 months old now. Looking back at this blog just now, I noticed that I blogged on my first born’s birth at about 6 months, so there must be something to that. The first 6 months are all a blur. A wonderful blur.

I’ll be honest – I’m so darn meticulous that it totally bothers me to blog right now, because I missed documenting so much MAJOR stuff, but I’m choosing to press on. Soooo….

Back in May of 2013, we found out we were pregnant again – YAY!

9 months later, we were ready to welcome another bouncing boy to our family. Big brother was ready and excited to meet the baby we had talked so much about. (We got Cliff a baby boy doll, who quickly became known as “Baby Paul”, for him to practice loving and caring for. It worked like a charm!)

Here is Cliff baby wearing Baby Paul alongside me right after Luke was born. Cliff was a month shy of 2 years old when this picture was taken and he’s 2 1/2 now. He’s snuggling Baby Paul in his bed right now as I type.

IMG_2950

IMG_2955

Rewind to the weeks leading up to Luke’s birth. We were ALL READY (except the nursery was not #secondbornthing). I was hopeful [again] that the baby would come early and many at work predicted he would, but I knew he wouldn’t and I was right. I dilated a bit more and earlier (1 cm at 37 weeks and just under 2 by 39, I believe…but I’m a little hazy on the exact stats). I know I was WAY more effaced at that point, too – about 90% at 39 weeks. Dr. Dulaney was on me in the 3rd trimester for eating too many sweets because she predicted he was going to be big. She told me she would induce right away this time if I did not have him by my due date and I remember being happy to hear this! (Walking around 41 weeks pregnant was not fun with my first!) I was also relieved to hear that we did not have to go to the hospital the night before the induction, as we had with our first. So my parents were kind enough to come an pick up Cliff the night before we were admitted and Roy and I went on a date to Macaroni Grill, which has now become a tradition the night before I give birth. We got a great night’s sleep (I was not as nervous this time around). The next morning, we went in about 8:15 and they got me started by 8:30 am. The morning was pretty slow and uneventful. I could barely feel any contractions and they were easy, if I felt them at all. I remember thinking “Let’s get this party started!” The nurse told me I needed to wait 4 hours for this Strep B antibiotic to get in my blood and I remember thinking “That seems like forever”…but then before I knew it Dr. Dulaney came bouncing in like clockwork (Or maybe a little early) about 12:00 noon to break my water. After she left, the contractions hit me fast and hard. I remember texting my dear friend, Shelby, to come on up and by the time she got up, I was needing to take breaks in our conversation to breath through contractions. I enjoyed feeling them, but also looked forward to the epidural, which I ordered about 45 min later. When Shelby heard of the idea of needles, she high-tailed it out of there! Hehe. Glad I called for it sooner than later because the anesthesiologist had trouble getting the needle in, so he tried to discretely call for back up, although I knew something was up. A parade of 4 anesthesiologists came in and a man from Bosnia, who spoke with a thick accent, ended up showing the other guy how it was done. They all teased the first guy and it was kinda funny, after the fact. Then, I invited lots of family in and we had a big time. I got really sleepy and the the nurses who had my back) asked everyone but hubby to leave and I took a quick “labor nap” to rest a bit. (I was 6 cm before the nap.) Then they woke me up to check me and tell me I was 10 cm and it was time to push! It was roughly 5:20 pm. (I purposely gave no other time updates between 12:00 and 5:20 because it flew by and I really had no idea what time it was!) I pushed for about 15 minutes and he was here!!!

LukeBirth_24Luke Henry, Born at 5:43 pm on 1/30/14, 8 lbs, 12 oz, 21 1/2 in

LukeBirth_13LukeBirth_22LukeBirth_03LukeBirth_37LukeBirth_47LukeBirth_65AlgeaFeb2014_05AlgeaFeb2014_22AlgeaFeb2014_24AlgeaFeb2014_27AlgeaFeb2014_89AlgeaFeb2014_45For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

Psalm 139:13-14 

 

 

*Photos taken at Luke’s birth by the amazing Melissa McMasters, http://www.melissamcmasters.com